The best overall pine bark supplement in this roundup is NOW Supplements Pine Bark Extract, which pairs a stated 240 mg amount with 90% OPC standardization. For a higher capsule count, Nutricost Pine Bark Extract stands out, while the USDA Organic Pine Bark Extract Drops offer a liquid alternative. The main tradeoffs are extract identity and standardization, capsule strength and count, and whether you prefer capsules, tablets, or drops. A larger milligram number alone does not show that two extracts are equivalent. Read on for the full comparison and a guide to choosing by label, format, and routine.
Turn your wind-down time into listening time
- Thousands of audiobooks, podcasts and originals
- Listen on your phone, tablet or Echo — also offline
- Cancel anytime
Key Takeaways
- Standardization can be more informative than milligrams alone: NOW states 90% OPC, while the 350 mg French maritime products specify 95% proanthocyanidins; those label details help distinguish extracts, though the terms and formulas should not be assumed interchangeable.
- Capsules dominate this lineup: the USDA Organic drops are the clear liquid-format choice for shoppers who avoid swallowing capsules, but liquid serving measurements need closer attention.
- High-count bottles suit steady routines, not every buyer: Nutricost’s 180 capsules and the 200-capsule French maritime options reduce replenishment frequency, while smaller bottles can make more sense for a first trial.
- Pycnogenol-branded options occupy a separate comparison lane: NutraChamps, Healthy Origins, and Life Extension name Pycnogenol, so shoppers should compare the branded ingredient and serving details rather than treating all pine bark extracts as identical.
- Duplicate-looking listings call for label checks: two entries share the name French Maritime Pine Bark Extract, 400 mg, 200 Vegan Capsules; confirm the full label and seller details before choosing between them.
| Nutricost Pine Bark Extract, 180 Capsules | ![]() | Best Overall | Capsules: 180 | Servings per bottle: 180 | Pine bark extract per serving: 300 mg | VIEW LATEST PRICE | See Our Full Breakdown |
| USDA Organic Pine Bark Extract Drops, 4 fl oz | ![]() | Best Liquid Option | Volume: 4 fl oz | Servings per bottle: 171 | Supply: 171 days at one serving per day | VIEW LATEST PRICE | See Our Full Breakdown |
| Zazzee Extra Strength French Maritime Pine Bark Extract, 350 mg, 180 Capsules | ![]() | Best for a Higher Listed Dose | Extract ratio: 20:1 | Amount per capsule: 350 mg | Standardization: At least 95% proanthocyanidins | VIEW LATEST PRICE | See Our Full Breakdown |
| NutraChamps Pycnogenol French Maritime Pine Bark Extract, 60 Capsules | ![]() | Best Botanical Blend | Active ingredient: 20 mg French maritime pine bark extract | Other ingredients: Beet root concentrate, cayenne pepper, grape seed extract, black pepper extract | Capsule count: 60 | VIEW LATEST PRICE | See Our Full Breakdown |
| French Maritime Pine Bark Extract Capsules, 350 mg, 95% Proanthocyanidins | ![]() | Best for a Simple Standardized Formula | Ingredient: French maritime pine bark extract (Pinus pinaster) | Amount per serving: 350 mg | Proanthocyanidins: 95% | VIEW LATEST PRICE | See Our Full Breakdown |
| Horbäach Pine Bark Extract Capsules, 120 Count | ![]() | Best for Proanthocyanidin Dose Clarity | Count: 120 capsules | Form: Quick-release capsules | Proanthocyanidins: 95 mg per capsule | VIEW LATEST PRICE | See Our Full Breakdown |
| French Maritime Pine Bark Extract, 400 mg, 200 Vegan Capsules | ![]() | Best High-Count Vegan Option | Serving size: 1 capsule | Pine bark extract: 400 mg per serving | Extract ratio: 30:1 | VIEW LATEST PRICE | See Our Full Breakdown |
| Horbäach Pine Bark Extract, 180 Capsules | ![]() | Best for Percentage-Based Standardization | Form: Quick-release capsules | Count: 180 capsules | Source: Maritime pine | VIEW LATEST PRICE | See Our Full Breakdown |
| NOW Supplements Pine Bark Extract, 240 mg, 90% OPC, 90 Veg Capsules | ![]() | Best for High OPC Concentration | Serving strength: 240 mg | OPC concentration: 90% | Form: Vegetarian capsules | VIEW LATEST PRICE | See Our Full Breakdown |
| Healthy Origins Pycnogenol Pine Bark Extract, 100 mg, 60 Veggie Caps | ![]() | Best Named French Maritime Extract | Serving strength: 100 mg | Quantity: 60 veggie capsules | Source: Maritime pine bark from southwest France | VIEW LATEST PRICE | See Our Full Breakdown |
| Piping Rock Pine Bark Extract Capsules, 180 Count | ![]() | Best for a Longer Bottle Supply | Count: 180 capsules | Form: Capsules | Ingredient: Pine bark extract | VIEW LATEST PRICE | See Our Full Breakdown |
| Life Extension Pycnogenol French Maritime Pine Bark Extract, 60 Capsules | ![]() | Best for a Named, Patented Extract | Count: 60 capsules | Active ingredient: Pycnogenol (French maritime pine bark extract) | Ingredient type: Patented extract | VIEW LATEST PRICE | See Our Full Breakdown |
| French Maritime Pine Bark Extract, 400 mg, 200 Vegan Capsules | ![]() | Best for a High-Strength, Long Supply | Serving size: 1 capsule | Extract amount: 400 mg per capsule | Standardization: At least 95% proanthocyanidins | VIEW LATEST PRICE | See Our Full Breakdown |
| Source Naturals Pine Bark Extract 150 mg, 60 Tablets | ![]() | Best for a Lower Stated Dose | Ingredient: Pine bark extract (Pinus massoniana) | Amount per tablet: 150 mg | Count: 60 tablets | VIEW LATEST PRICE | See Our Full Breakdown |
| EVL Pine Bark Extract Antioxidant Support, 90 Servings | ![]() | Best for a Simple Daily Standardized Capsule | Servings: 90 | Extract per capsule: 240 mg | Standardization: 95% proanthocyanidins | VIEW LATEST PRICE | See Our Full Breakdown |
More Details on Our Top Picks
Nutricost Pine Bark Extract, 180 Capsules
I’d put Nutricost first for shoppers who want a clearly specified, straightforward capsule. Each serving provides 300 mg of 20:1 extract standardized to 95% proanthocyanidins, so the amount and standardization are easier to compare than those of blends that leave ingredient quantities unclear. The 180-capsule bottle also supplies 180 servings, a longer stated supply than the 60-capsule NutraChamps formula. Its vegetarian, gluten-free, soy-free, and non-GMO attributes add useful screening information without adding other botanicals to the formula. The tradeoff is that its 300 mg serving is lower than the 350 mg capsules from Zazzee and French Maritime Pine Bark Extract. I’d choose Nutricost for transparency and a simple daily capsule, not for the highest listed extract amount.
Pros:- 300 mg per serving with a stated 20:1 extract ratio
- Standardized to 95% proanthocyanidins
- 180 capsules provide 180 servings
- Vegetarian, gluten-free, soy-free, and non-GMO
Cons:- Lower listed extract amount per serving than the 350 mg Zazzee and French Maritime options
- Capsule format is unsuitable for buyers who prefer liquid supplements
Best for: Buyers who want a single-ingredient capsule with a stated extract ratio, standardization, and a full 180-serving bottle.
Not ideal for: Shoppers prioritizing the highest listed amount per capsule; Zazzee and French Maritime Pine Bark Extract each list 350 mg.
- Capsules:180
- Servings per bottle:180
- Pine bark extract per serving:300 mg
- Extract ratio:20:1
- Proanthocyanidins:95%
- Dietary attributes:Vegetarian, gluten-free, soy-free, non-GMO
- Facility:NSF-certified, GMP-compliant, FDA-registered
Our verdict“Choose Nutricost if you want a plainly specified, single-ingredient capsule and value a 180-serving supply over a higher per-capsule amount.”
USDA Organic Pine Bark Extract Drops, 4 fl oz
These drops are the lineup’s clear choice for buyers who would rather use a liquid than swallow capsules. The alcohol-free, vegan glycerin base and USDA Organic certification distinguish them from capsule picks such as Nutricost Pine Bark Extract, which offers a specified 300 mg serving and a 20:1 extract ratio. Here, the supplied details emphasize the format and formula, not the amount of pine bark extract per serving or its proanthocyanidin standardization. That makes a direct potency comparison difficult. The naturally sweet formula has no added sugar or artificial additives, and the bottle is listed as 171 servings, though that long supply may be less convenient for someone who wants a short trial. I’d select this for liquid-format and organic preferences, not for buyers who need a quantified extract dose.
Pros:- USDA Organic pine bark extract
- Alcohol-free, vegan vegetable-glycerin formula
- No added sugar or artificial additives
- Listed as 171 servings per bottle
Cons:- Product details do not state the extract amount per serving
- No proanthocyanidin standardization is provided
- The long listed supply may not suit shoppers seeking a brief trial
Best for: People who prefer liquid supplements and specifically want a USDA Organic, alcohol-free, vegan formula without added sugar.
Not ideal for: Buyers who need a stated milligram amount or proanthocyanidin percentage per serving to compare extract strength.
- Volume:4 fl oz
- Servings per bottle:171
- Supply:171 days at one serving per day
- Certification:USDA Organic
- Formula:Vegan, alcohol-free, vegetable glycerin-based
- Added sugar:None
Our verdict“Pick these drops if liquid delivery and organic, alcohol-free ingredients matter more to you than a clearly stated extract dose.”
Zazzee Extra Strength French Maritime Pine Bark Extract, 350 mg, 180 Capsules
Zazzee lists 350 mg per capsule, putting it ahead of Nutricost’s 300 mg serving on extract amount while retaining a stated 20:1 ratio and at least 95% proanthocyanidins. That combination makes the product easier to evaluate than the NutraChamps blend, whose quantities for most added ingredients are not stated. The 180 vegan capsules are described as a six-month supply, but the suggested serving size is absent from the supplied details, so I wouldn’t treat that duration as a dependable dosing guide. Its kosher and non-GMO attributes, plus USA manufacturing in a certified facility, may matter to shoppers checking those preferences. Compared with the similarly sized French Maritime Pine Bark Extract 350 mg, Zazzee specifies its extract ratio and minimum standardization; the main limitation is the unclear serving schedule.
Pros:- 350 mg per capsule
- 20:1 extract ratio and minimum 95% proanthocyanidins stated
- Vegan, kosher, and non-GMO
- 180 capsules made in the USA in a certified facility
Cons:- Suggested serving size is not stated in the supplied product details
- Six-month supply claim depends on an unclear serving schedule
- Higher listed amount than Nutricost may not be a priority for buyers seeking a lower-dose option
Best for: Capsule buyers seeking a stated 350 mg amount, a 20:1 extract ratio, and at least 95% proanthocyanidins.
Not ideal for: Shoppers who want the suggested daily serving clearly stated before estimating how long a bottle will last.
- Extract ratio:20:1
- Amount per capsule:350 mg
- Standardization:At least 95% proanthocyanidins
- Capsule count:180
- Claimed supply:6 months
- Dietary attributes:Vegan, kosher, non-GMO
- Manufacturing location:USA
Our verdict“Choose Zazzee if you want a 350 mg capsule with explicit ratio and standardization details and can verify the serving directions on the label.”
NutraChamps Pycnogenol French Maritime Pine Bark Extract, 60 Capsules
NutraChamps takes a different route from single-ingredient choices such as Nutricost: it combines 20 mg of patented French maritime pine bark extract with beet root, cayenne, grape seed, and black pepper extracts. That makes it the blend-focused option here, for buyers who prefer several botanicals in one capsule rather than a plainly quantified pine bark product. The tradeoff is a major comparison gap: the quantities of most ingredients and the serving size are not provided, so I can’t judge the blend’s proportions or compare its pine bark amount directly with Zazzee’s 350 mg capsule. Its vegetarian, non-GMO, gluten-free formula and cGMP manufacturing details add useful specifications, but the 60-capsule bottle is smaller than the 180-capsule Nutricost and Zazzee options. I’d choose this for the combination, not for dose transparency.
Pros:- Includes 20 mg of patented French maritime pine bark extract
- Combines pine bark with beet root, cayenne, grape seed, and black pepper extracts
- Vegetarian, non-GMO, and gluten-free
- Made in the USA under cGMP quality standards
Cons:- Amounts for most added ingredients are not specified
- Serving size is not stated in the supplied details
- 60 capsules provide fewer capsules than the 180-count Nutricost and Zazzee bottles
Best for: Shoppers who want a multi-botanical formula with French maritime pine bark, beet root, cayenne, grape seed, and black pepper.
Not ideal for: Buyers who want a high, clearly quantified pine bark dose or need the amounts of every blend ingredient to be listed.
- Active ingredient:20 mg French maritime pine bark extract
- Other ingredients:Beet root concentrate, cayenne pepper, grape seed extract, black pepper extract
- Capsule count:60
- Formula:Non-GMO, gluten-free, vegetarian
- Manufacturing:Made in the USA; cGMP quality manufacturing
Our verdict“Pick NutraChamps if you want a multi-botanical blend and accept less dose detail than the single-ingredient capsule options provide.”
French Maritime Pine Bark Extract Capsules, 350 mg, 95% Proanthocyanidins
This product keeps the formula focused: 350 mg of French maritime pine bark extract per capsule, standardized to 95% proanthocyanidins, in a vegan, non-GMO 180-capsule bottle. Compared with NutraChamps, it avoids a multi-ingredient blend and gives a clearer account of the pine bark amount; compared with Zazzee, it lists the same 350 mg amount and 95% standardization but does not provide an extract ratio in the supplied details. The bottle is described as a six-month supply, though the serving directions behind that claim are not included here. Product copy also makes health-support claims without providing evidence in the supplied text, so I’d base a choice on its stated formula rather than those claims. It suits shoppers who want a straightforward standardized capsule, with less detail than Nutricost provides about extract ratio and facility.
Pros:- 350 mg of French maritime pine bark extract per capsule
- Standardized to 95% proanthocyanidins
- Vegan and non-GMO
- 180-capsule bottle described as a six-month supply
Cons:- Extract ratio is not provided in the supplied details
- Serving directions behind the six-month supply claim are not stated
- Product text makes health-support claims without providing evidence
Best for: Buyers seeking a vegan, non-GMO single-ingredient capsule with 350 mg of extract and a stated 95% proanthocyanidin level.
Not ideal for: Shoppers who require an extract ratio, clearly stated serving directions, or evidence supporting the product’s health claims.
- Ingredient:French maritime pine bark extract (Pinus pinaster)
- Amount per serving:350 mg
- Proanthocyanidins:95%
- Capsules per bottle:180
- Supply:Six months
- Dietary attributes:Vegan, non-GMO
- Manufacturing:GMP-certified facility
Our verdict“Choose this capsule if you want a simple 350 mg standardized formula and do not need the extract-ratio detail listed for Nutricost or Zazzee.”
Horbäach Pine Bark Extract Capsules, 120 Count
I’d put this Horbäach option on the shortlist for buyers who want a clearly stated 95 mg of proanthocyanidins per capsule, rather than an extract amount without a corresponding active-compound figure. That makes it easier to compare its stated composition with products such as NOW Supplements Pine Bark Extract, which specifies a 90% OPC concentration but also adds green tea extract with EGCg. Horbäach keeps the formula simpler and supplies 120 quick-release capsules, though the listing does not state the total extract amount per capsule. Its laboratory testing and exclusions for several common allergens and additives are useful details, but they do not replace a full testing report. Choose it for dose transparency and a straightforward capsule; skip it if you need a fully disclosed extract weight or a vegan designation.
Pros:- Lists 95 mg of proanthocyanidins per capsule
- Quick-release capsule format
- Laboratory tested, according to the product details
- Free from gluten, wheat, milk, lactose, artificial flavors, and sweeteners
Cons:- Does not state the total pine bark extract amount per capsule
- No vegan or vegetarian suitability claim is provided
- Testing details are not specified beyond laboratory testing
Best for: Buyers who prioritize a stated proanthocyanidin amount per capsule and want a simple, quick-release formula.
Not ideal for: Shoppers who need the total pine bark extract weight, a vegan claim, or publicly detailed laboratory results.
- Count:120 capsules
- Form:Quick-release capsules
- Proanthocyanidins:95 mg per capsule
- Testing:Laboratory tested
- Non-GMO:Yes
- Free from:Gluten, wheat, milk, lactose, artificial flavors, and sweeteners
Our verdict“Choose Horbäach if a clearly stated proanthocyanidin amount matters more than knowing the capsule’s total extract weight.”
French Maritime Pine Bark Extract, 400 mg, 200 Vegan Capsules
This French maritime pine bark formula is the lineup’s high-count pick: 200 vegan capsules, each serving listed as one capsule with 400 mg of extract. Its 30:1 extract ratio gives buyers another piece of potency information, although the product details do not state a proanthocyanidin or OPC percentage. That makes it less composition-specific than Horbäach Pine Bark Extract Capsules, which lists 95 mg of proanthocyanidins per capsule. The formula also includes black pepper fruit extract, so it is not as minimal as a single-ingredient bark supplement. Made in the USA with globally sourced ingredients under cGMP standards, it suits buyers who want a long supply and a vegan capsule, but those seeking a clearly quantified active-compound level may prefer a more detailed label.
Pros:- 200 capsules and 200 listed servings per container
- Vegan and vegetarian-friendly
- 400 mg of pine bark extract per serving with a stated 30:1 ratio
- Made under cGMP standards
Cons:- Does not list a proanthocyanidin or OPC concentration
- Includes black pepper fruit extract rather than only pine bark
- Uses globally sourced ingredients, with no specific bark origin stated
Best for: Vegan supplement users who want a one-capsule serving and a large bottle count.
Not ideal for: Buyers who want a stated proanthocyanidin or OPC amount, or who prefer pine bark without added black pepper extract.
- Serving size:1 capsule
- Pine bark extract:400 mg per serving
- Extract ratio:30:1
- Count:200 capsules
- Servings per container:200
- Other ingredient:Black pepper fruit extract
- Dietary suitability:Vegan and vegetarian
- Manufacturing:Made in the USA with globally sourced ingredients under cGMP standards
Our verdict“Pick this formula for a high capsule count and vegan format, but choose Horbäach if a stated proanthocyanidin amount is your priority.”
Horbäach Pine Bark Extract, 180 Capsules
Horbäach’s 180-capsule option stands apart by naming its source as maritime pine and standardizing the extract to 75% proanthocyanidins. That percentage helps buyers compare extract concentration, but the listing does not provide a capsule dose or total extract weight, so it is harder to determine the amount delivered per serving than with the 95 mg-per-capsule Horbäach product. The quick-release format and exclusions for gluten, wheat, yeast, lactose, soy, artificial flavors, and preservatives make the label appealing to shoppers avoiding those ingredients. Compared with NOW Supplements Pine Bark Extract, it offers more capsules but no stated green tea addition or 90% OPC figure. I’d choose it for source and percentage details, not for precise dose tracking.
Pros:- Sourced from maritime pine
- Standardized to 75% proanthocyanidins
- 180 quick-release capsules per bottle
- Made without several common allergens, artificial flavors, or preservatives
Cons:- No capsule dosage or total extract weight is provided
- The percentage does not reveal the amount of proanthocyanidins per capsule
- The listing provides less dose detail than Horbäach’s 95 mg-per-capsule option
Best for: Buyers who want maritime pine and a stated proanthocyanidin percentage, with a larger capsule count.
Not ideal for: Dose-focused shoppers who need the extract weight or proanthocyanidin amount per capsule before buying.
- Form:Quick-release capsules
- Count:180 capsules
- Source:Maritime pine
- Proanthocyanidins:75%
- Free from:Gluten, wheat, yeast, lactose, soy, artificial flavors, and preservatives
Our verdict“Choose this Horbäach bottle if maritime-pine sourcing and a standardized percentage matter more than a fully stated per-capsule dose.”
NOW Supplements Pine Bark Extract, 240 mg, 90% OPC, 90 Veg Capsules
For shoppers comparing active-compound concentration, NOW gives a clear headline: 240 mg of pine bark extract at 90% OPC. It uses inner bark from Chinese red pine and adds green tea extract with EGCg, making this a more layered formula than the simpler Horbäach Pine Bark Extract, 180 Capsules. That combination may suit buyers who specifically want both listed botanical ingredients, but it also means the product is not a pine-bark-only choice. The vegetarian capsules and exclusions for dairy, eggs, gluten, nuts, and soy widen its fit for some dietary needs. The 90-capsule count is lower than the 180- and 200-count options in this group, and natural color variation may occur. I’d favor it for its explicit OPC concentration, not for a minimalist formula.
Pros:- Lists 240 mg of pine bark extract with 90% OPC
- Uses inner bark from Chinese red pine
- Includes green tea extract with EGCg
- Vegetarian capsules and free from several common allergens
Cons:- Green tea extract makes the formula less suitable for shoppers seeking pine bark alone
- 90 capsules per bottle is fewer than the larger-count options in this group
- Natural color variation may occur
Best for: Buyers who want a stated 90% OPC concentration and are comfortable with green tea extract in the formula.
Not ideal for: People seeking a single-ingredient pine bark capsule, or buyers who prefer a larger bottle count.
- Serving strength:240 mg
- OPC concentration:90%
- Form:Vegetarian capsules
- Count:90 capsules
- Source:Inner bark of Chinese red pine (Pinus massoniana)
- Additional ingredient:Green tea extract with EGCg
- Dietary attributes:Vegan; dairy-free, egg-free, gluten-free, nut-free, and soy-free
- Color:Natural color variation may occur
Our verdict“Choose NOW if a clearly stated OPC concentration and added green tea extract suit your preferences; skip it for a simpler formula.”
Healthy Origins Pycnogenol Pine Bark Extract, 100 mg, 60 Veggie Caps
Healthy Origins is the most source-specific pick here: its 100 mg Pycnogenol comes from maritime pine bark sourced in southwest France, with capsules made in the USA. That origin detail gives it a different appeal from NOW’s Chinese red pine extract and the French maritime product that lists a 30:1 ratio but no stated proanthocyanidin percentage. The vegetarian formula is also free from a long list of common allergens and artificial colors, flavors, and preservatives. Its tradeoff is a 60-capsule count, shorter than the Horbäach and 200-capsule options in this group, and the product details warn that heat or sunlight during delivery may damage it. I’d choose it for its named extract and origin, but not if bottle count or delivery-condition concerns lead your decision.
Pros:- 100 mg serving strength
- Maritime pine bark sourced from southwest France
- Vegetarian capsule format
- Free from listed common allergens and artificial colors, flavors, and preservatives
Cons:- 60 veggie capsules per bottle, fewer than several alternatives in this group
- No proanthocyanidin or OPC concentration is stated
- Product details warn of possible heat or sunlight damage during delivery
Best for: Buyers who specifically want Pycnogenol sourced from southwest France in a vegetarian capsule.
Not ideal for: Shoppers who prioritize a larger capsule count, a stated OPC percentage, or reduced concern about heat and sunlight during delivery.
- Serving strength:100 mg
- Quantity:60 veggie capsules
- Source:Maritime pine bark from southwest France
- Manufacturing:Encapsulated in the USA
- Dietary attributes:Vegetarian
- Free from:Sugar, yeast, wheat, gluten, soy, fish, shellfish, peanuts, egg, milk, artificial colors, flavors, and preservatives
- Handling note:May be damaged by heat or sunlight during delivery
Our verdict“Choose Healthy Origins if southwest French Pycnogenol sourcing is your main priority and a 60-capsule bottle fits your needs.”
Piping Rock Pine Bark Extract Capsules, 180 Count
Piping Rock’s main advantage is its 180-capsule count, which gives routine users more capsules per bottle than the 60-count Life Extension Pycnogenol. The formula is described as a concentrated pine bark extract, with non-GMO and gluten-free attributes plus laboratory testing. That makes it a straightforward pick for shoppers who prioritize a larger bottle and basic quality details over a named extract or a specified active-compound percentage. The tradeoff is that the supplied product information does not state the extract amount per capsule, botanical source, or standardization. Compared with EVL Pine Bark Extract, which specifies both extract amount and proanthocyanidin standardization, Piping Rock offers less detail for buyers comparing potency. I’d choose it for capsule count, not for precision about the formula.
Pros:- 180 capsules provide a larger bottle count than Life Extension’s 60-capsule option.
- Described as a concentrated pine bark extract.
- Non-GMO and gluten-free attributes are specified.
- Laboratory testing is stated in the product information.
Cons:- The extract amount per capsule is not provided.
- No botanical source or active-compound standardization is specified.
- The capsule count does not establish how long the bottle lasts without serving directions.
Best for: Shoppers who want a 180-capsule bottle and prefer non-GMO, gluten-free supplements with laboratory testing noted.
Not ideal for: Buyers who need a stated dose, a named French maritime source, or a standardized proanthocyanidin percentage to compare formulas.
- Count:180 capsules
- Form:Capsules
- Ingredient:Pine bark extract
- Extract description:Concentrated extract
- Dietary attributes:Non-GMO, gluten free
- Testing:Laboratory tested
Our verdict“Choose Piping Rock if bottle count and basic dietary attributes matter more to you than a clearly stated dose or standardized extract.”
Life Extension Pycnogenol French Maritime Pine Bark Extract, 60 Capsules
Life Extension is the clearest fit for shoppers specifically seeking Pycnogenol, a patented French maritime pine bark extract, rather than a product identified only as pine bark. Its vegetarian capsules are also described as non-GMO and gluten-free, and the listed intended support includes circulation, vascular health, a healthy inflammatory response, and antioxidant protection. That named ingredient is the key distinction from Piping Rock Pine Bark Extract, whose product details do not identify a botanical source or branded extract. The tradeoff is a 60-capsule bottle, smaller than Piping Rock’s 180-count supply, and the provided details do not state the Pycnogenol amount per capsule. I’d favor this option for ingredient identity, but buyers who want a clearly stated dose or a larger count should compare it with products such as EVL.
Pros:- Uses the named, patented Pycnogenol French maritime pine bark extract.
- Vegetarian capsule formula.
- Non-GMO and gluten-free attributes are stated.
- Product information identifies vascular, circulation, and antioxidant support goals.
Cons:- The 60-capsule count is lower than Piping Rock’s 180-capsule bottle.
- The supplied details do not state the Pycnogenol amount per capsule.
- No proanthocyanidin percentage is provided in the product details.
Best for: Shoppers who specifically want a vegetarian supplement featuring patented Pycnogenol French maritime pine bark extract.
Not ideal for: Buyers who prioritize a large capsule count or need the extract amount per capsule stated in the available product details.
- Count:60 capsules
- Active ingredient:Pycnogenol (French maritime pine bark extract)
- Ingredient type:Patented extract
- Form:Capsules
- Dietary attributes:Vegetarian, non-GMO, gluten-free
- Described support:Vascular health, circulation, healthy inflammatory response, antioxidant protection
Our verdict“Pick Life Extension if a named Pycnogenol extract matters more to you than bottle size or a dose and standardization stated on the listing.”
French Maritime Pine Bark Extract, 400 mg, 200 Vegan Capsules
This 400 mg formula pairs a stated capsule dose with at least 95% proanthocyanidins, giving label-focused shoppers more to compare than Piping Rock, which does not provide an extract amount or standardization in the supplied details. Its 200 vegan capsules are listed as a 200-day supply, so it also suits buyers who want a long routine without frequent bottle replacement. Bioperine is an additional ingredient, which may be a reason to choose this formula over EVL’s 240 mg capsule, but it also means the product is not a single-ingredient extract. The larger dose and long supply are appealing on paper; the tradeoff is that the provided information does not explain the Bioperine amount or the basis for its inclusion. I’d pick it for dose transparency and capsule count, not for a minimal formula.
Pros:- Provides 400 mg of extract per capsule.
- Standardized to at least 95% proanthocyanidins.
- 200 vegan capsules are listed as a 200-day supply.
- Suitable for vegan and vegetarian diets.
Cons:- Includes Bioperine, so the formula is not limited to pine bark extract.
- The amount of Bioperine is not specified in the provided details.
- Its 400 mg dose is higher than EVL’s stated 240 mg per capsule, which may not suit shoppers seeking a lower-dose option.
Best for: Vegan supplement shoppers who want a stated 400 mg dose, high proanthocyanidin standardization, and a listed 200-day supply.
Not ideal for: People seeking a simple pine bark-only formula, or anyone who wants the amount of Bioperine specified in the product details.
- Serving size:1 capsule
- Extract amount:400 mg per capsule
- Standardization:At least 95% proanthocyanidins
- Capsule count:200 veggie capsules
- Listed supply:200 days
- Dietary suitability:Vegan and vegetarian
- Additional ingredient:Bioperine
Our verdict“Choose this formula if you want a clearly stated 400 mg, highly standardized extract and long capsule supply, and are comfortable with added Bioperine.”
Source Naturals Pine Bark Extract 150 mg, 60 Tablets
Source Naturals stands out for its straightforward 150 mg tablet dose and a suggested routine of one to two tablets daily with meals. That gives dose-conscious shoppers a simple way to compare serving amounts, unlike Piping Rock, whose provided details do not list an amount per capsule. The extract is identified as Pinus massoniana, a useful distinction from French maritime options such as Life Extension Pycnogenol. Source Naturals also states that it is manufactured in the United States under cGMP standards. The tradeoff is that the product information does not provide a proanthocyanidin percentage, and its 60-tablet count is more modest than the 200-capsule French maritime formula. I’d shortlist it for a lower stated dose and clear use directions, but not if a high-standardization extract is the priority.
Pros:- States 150 mg of pine bark extract per tablet.
- Provides simple suggested use of one to two tablets daily with meals.
- Identifies the botanical source as Pinus massoniana.
- Manufactured in the USA under cGMP standards.
Cons:- The 60-tablet count is smaller than the 200-capsule French maritime option.
- No proanthocyanidin standardization is provided.
- Uses tablets rather than the vegan capsule format offered by several alternatives.
Best for: Shoppers who prefer a clearly stated 150 mg tablet and simple one-to-two-tablet daily directions with meals.
Not ideal for: Buyers seeking French maritime pine bark, a stated proanthocyanidin percentage, or a longer bottle supply.
- Ingredient:Pine bark extract (Pinus massoniana)
- Amount per tablet:150 mg
- Count:60 tablets
- Suggested use:1 to 2 tablets daily with meals
- Manufacturing location:Scotts Valley, California, USA
- Manufacturing standard:cGMP
Our verdict“Choose Source Naturals if you want a stated 150 mg dose, clear tablet directions, and Pinus massoniana rather than a French maritime extract.”
EVL Pine Bark Extract Antioxidant Support, 90 Servings
EVL keeps the formula and routine easy to read: one vegan capsule daily supplies 240 mg of pine bark extract standardized to 95% proanthocyanidins. That makes it more transparent about dose and active-compound standardization than Piping Rock, while offering a lower stated extract amount than the 400 mg French maritime formula. The 90-serving count also gives shoppers a clearly stated supply length based on the suggested one-capsule routine. The tradeoff is that the supplied information does not name a pine species or describe a patented extract, unlike Life Extension’s Pycnogenol product. I’d choose EVL for a simple, standardized daily capsule, but buyers who care most about botanical origin or a branded French maritime ingredient may prefer Life Extension instead.
Pros:- Provides 240 mg of pine bark extract per capsule.
- Standardized to 95% proanthocyanidins.
- Vegan veggie capsule.
- One-capsule daily directions pair with a stated 90-serving supply.
Cons:- The product details do not identify the pine species or extract origin.
- Does not specify a patented extract like Life Extension’s Pycnogenol.
- Its stated 240 mg dose is lower than the 400 mg French maritime option.
Best for: Shoppers who want a vegan capsule with a stated daily dose and 95% proanthocyanidin standardization.
Not ideal for: Buyers who require a named pine species, patented Pycnogenol, or a higher stated extract amount per capsule.
- Servings:90
- Extract per capsule:240 mg
- Standardization:95% proanthocyanidins
- Capsule type:Vegan veggie capsule
- Suggested use:1 capsule daily, preferably with a meal
- Product positioning:Antioxidant support
Our verdict“Pick EVL if you want a clearly standardized vegan capsule with a simple one-per-day routine rather than a named or higher-dose extract.”

How We Picked
I compared the 15 listed options using information present in their product names and supplied specifications: extract identity, stated strength, standardization, format, capsule count, and serving details where available. I gave more weight to labels that make the extract and concentration easier to compare, since milligram amounts alone may describe different ingredients or serving sizes. I also considered practical fit, including capsule versus liquid format and bottle size.
The ranking favors clear, decision-useful labeling and broad routine fit, not implied health outcomes. Options with named French maritime pine bark or a stated OPC/proanthocyanidin percentage are easier to evaluate against one another than listings with fewer details. Because the supplied information does not establish independent testing, clinical equivalence, or full ingredient panels, I do not treat those as proven advantages; shoppers should verify the current product label before purchase.
Factors to Consider When Choosing Best Pine Bark Supplements
A useful comparison starts with the label, not the largest number on the front of the bottle. I would match the extract identity and concentration information to the kind of comparison I want to make, then check whether the serving format fits my routine. These factors can also help spot when two similar-looking products are not directly comparable.
Check the Extract Name and Source
Pine bark is a broad ingredient description, while several products here specify French maritime pine bark or use the Pycnogenol name. Those labels give you more information about what the manufacturer says is in the product, but they do not by themselves prove that separate products are identical. Avoid choosing solely by the words “pine bark” or by a familiar-sounding brand term. Compare the exact ingredient name on the current Supplement Facts panel and product listing. If a listing leaves the source unclear, that is a reason to seek more label detail rather than infer equivalence.
Interpret Milligrams Alongside Standardization
A higher milligram figure does not automatically mean a stronger or more comparable extract. Some entries state a percentage of OPCs or proanthocyanidins, while others provide a dose without that detail in the product name. Those percentages can help clarify the extract’s stated composition, but different marker terms should not be treated as interchangeable without product-specific information. Check whether the amount refers to one capsule, a serving, or another quantity. When the label does not explain the basis, compare cautiously instead of ranking products by the biggest number.
Choose a Format You Can Use Consistently
Most options in this roundup are capsules or tablets, with one liquid drop product. Capsules may be simpler to portion and carry, while drops can suit people who prefer not to swallow pills; the liquid format also requires accurate measurement and attention to storage directions. Tablets may differ in size and handling, so the product label matters more than the format name alone. Do not assume that one dropperful equals a capsule serving. Match the dosage directions to your routine, and ask a clinician or pharmacist if swallowing difficulty or medication use affects your choice.
Match Bottle Count to Your Buying Plan
A 180- or 200-capsule bottle may reduce how often you need to reorder, but it is not automatically the right first purchase. Bottle count only becomes useful when you know the labeled serving size and how many servings the container provides. A smaller bottle can limit unused product if you are trying a format or ingredient for the first time. Compare servings per container, serving directions, and expiration information, rather than relying on capsule count alone. The product names in this lineup do not provide every serving detail, so verify those figures on the package.
Treat Brand and Ingredient Claims as Separate Questions
Names such as Pycnogenol may help identify a specific branded ingredient, while other products use a generic pine bark extract description. A recognizable ingredient name does not answer every question about dose, capsule contents, or suitability for you. Review the full ingredient panel for added ingredients and possible allergens, and check whether the seller’s listing matches the package. If you have a medical condition, take medication, are pregnant, or are considering supplements for a health concern, ask a qualified healthcare professional before use. This is more useful than assuming that a label claim alone predicts personal results.
Verify Similar Listings Before Ordering
Two entries in this roundup have the same listed name and specifications: French Maritime Pine Bark Extract, 400 mg, 200 Vegan Capsules. That may reflect duplicate listings, but the supplied details do not establish whether the products come from the same manufacturer or have identical labels. Compare the manufacturer, Supplement Facts panel, lot and expiration details, and seller information before selecting one. The same caution applies to products with nearly identical names but different bottle counts. Use the exact package label as the final reference, especially when a marketplace title omits important details.
Frequently Asked Questions
Is a 400 mg pine bark capsule automatically stronger than a 240 mg one?
No. The listed milligrams do not tell the whole story unless the serving basis and extract details are clear. In this lineup, NOW specifies 240 mg and 90% OPC, while some 350 mg products state 95% proanthocyanidins; those markers are not automatically interchangeable. Check the full Supplement Facts panel for the amount per serving and the extract description. If the label leaves those details unclear, avoid treating the larger number as proof of greater strength.
Should I choose a Pycnogenol product or a generic pine bark extract?
That depends on what you want to compare and what the label tells you. NutraChamps, Healthy Origins, and Life Extension use the Pycnogenol name, while several other products identify pine bark or French maritime pine bark extract. Compare the ingredient identity, amount per serving, and full formula rather than assuming generic and branded products are equivalent. If a branded ingredient matters to you, verify that the current package names it in the ingredient panel. A clinician or pharmacist can help assess whether a supplement fits your circumstances.
Are drops a better choice than capsules if I have trouble swallowing pills?
Drops can be a practical alternative because they avoid swallowing a capsule, and the USDA Organic liquid option is the only liquid format in this roundup. The tradeoff is that you need to measure the serving accurately and follow the bottle’s storage and use directions. Do not convert a capsule amount into a dropper amount unless the product label provides a clear comparison. If swallowing difficulty is ongoing or linked to a medical issue, discuss it with a healthcare professional. For routine convenience, compare the actual serving instructions before choosing.
How can I compare two pine bark supplements when one lists a standardization percentage and the other does not?
Start by checking whether both products identify the same source and whether the stated amounts use the same serving basis. A percentage such as 90% OPC or 95% proanthocyanidins adds information, but it does not make products comparable if their ingredient definitions or testing methods differ. Look for the full Supplement Facts panel and manufacturer details, not only the front label. If one listing omits key information, treat that as uncertainty rather than assuming the extract is equivalent. You can contact the manufacturer for clarification before buying.
What should I check before starting a pine bark supplement alongside medication?
Check with your prescriber or pharmacist before adding a supplement when you take medication or manage a health condition. Share the exact product label, serving directions, and any other supplements you use so they can review the full combination. The product names in this roundup do not provide enough information to judge individual interactions or personal suitability. Do not replace a prescribed treatment with a supplement or change medication based on a product claim. If you notice an unexpected reaction after starting any supplement, stop and seek appropriate medical advice.
Conclusion
For the best overall balance of label detail and everyday capsule use, I would start with NOW Supplements Pine Bark Extract, whose product name specifies 240 mg and 90% OPC. For a value-minded shopper prioritizing a large bottle, Nutricost’s 180-capsule option is a practical candidate, though I would check its complete label before comparing strength. For a premium branded-ingredient preference, compare Life Extension, Healthy Origins, and NutraChamps by their current serving details and ingredient panels. Beginners may prefer a smaller bottle, such as Source Naturals or Healthy Origins, rather than committing to a high-count container. For a pill-free format, the USDA Organic drops are the standout; for shoppers prioritizing stated standardization, compare NOW with the 350 mg, 95% proanthocyanidins option. Pick by label clarity, format, and serving fit—not by milligrams alone.
Fall Picks
fall essentials
As an affiliate, we earn on qualifying purchases.















